Author Visit

P1-7 went to Salen Primary School where there was an author called Alan Windram. Alan Windram is the author of One Button Benny and the illustrator is Chloe Holwill-Hunter. (Isla, P5)

When we went in, we walked into a classroom and Alan Windram was standing. Then we had a seat, the Ulva students took all of the comfy seats so we sat on the plastic ones, then the Salen students came into the room and we listened to Alan’s past jobs and when he started to be an author. (Tyler, P4)

We saw the progress of One Button Benny from start to finish. The progress was long, hard work and so we listened. (Anna, P5)

He showed us how he wrote his ideas on a note every time he got an idea. He then asked an illustrator named Chloe to make pictures. She made them better and better. (Leo, P6)

He showed us picture drawings of Benny, from their beginnings to the final character. One was scary, one was cute. (Lucille, P5)

Alan showed us the draft illustrations of Benny, his mum and all the bots. He also showed us his notes for his ideas that he got when he was Edinburgh. (Amy, P7)

Next, he read the book to us, then he let us look at the different languages the book was translated into. (Hannah, P5)

I enjoyed Benny and his button. (Jayden, P3)

I liked the music for singing. (Layla, P2)

I most enjoyed seeing my mummy and brother. (Autumn, P2)

I enjoyed watching the story. (Molly, P1)

I enjoyed the story. (Harrison, P1)

I enjoyed dancing. (Jessica, P1)

I enjoyed singing the song. (Hope, P1)

I enjoyed the dancing. (Derwyn, P1)

I most liked the singing, I loved it. I loved the stories. (Gracie, P1)

I enjoyed the singing and the dancing. (Grace, P1)

Article 13 (freedom of expression) Every child must be free to express their thoughts and opinions and to access all kinds of information, as long as it is within the law.

Article 15 (freedom of association) Every child has the right to meet with other children and to join groups and organisations, as long as this does not stop other people from enjoying their rights.

Article 31 (leisure, play and culture) Every child has the right to relax, play and take part in a wide range of cultural and artistic activities.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.